July 17 2007

Hydroplane racing comes to South Dakota

Posted by Kim
By Lucy Halverson
Three members of the Unlimited Light Hydroplane Racing Association (ULHRA) put on an exhibition race Thursday, July 12 on the Missouri River near Cedar Shore Resort to demonstrate what the state of South Dakota can expect next July when the ULHRA holds their first official race here. Five boats along with their drivers and pit crews arrived in the Chamberlain/Oacoma area Wednesday following a race at Montreal, Quebec. But, one of the boats was damaged at the Montreal race and did not participate in the exhibit on the Missouri River. Following a short program emceed by River City Racin’ president Tom Davis, the public watched as a crane lifted the boats into the Cedar Shore Marina. Each boat took a practice run around the oval shaped track that was outlined with buoys positioned in front of the Cedar Shore causeway. Unfortunately, the first boat out was damaged and removed from the race. Three boats proceeded to demonstrate how they race. South Dakota will host a national ULHRA race on July 12 and 13, 2008 on the Missouri River. A Chamberlain/Oacoma committee named, River City Racin’ was formed in 2006 with the goal of hosting a ULHRA race.

The 2008 event will be a family-friendly festival atmosphere boosting boat races but also vendors, sport shows, car and motorcycle displays, children’s events, live entertainment and many other activities over the two days. Attendees will be able to view the ULHRA boats up close, and visit with the drivers.

July 11 2007

Posted by Kim
Jeremy Joseph, of Dakota Mill & Grain at Presho,opens the truck’s hopper to unload wheat into the grain pit on the south side of the elevator while truck driver Loren Booth of Vivian  steps down from his truck.

July 11 2007

Wheat harvest in full swing

Posted by Kim
By Lucy Halverson Winter wheat harvest moved north into Lyman County last week and was into full swing by Monday, July 9. Yield reports vary from 20 bushel per acre to over 55 according to area elevators.

Dennis Scott, manager, of Dakota Mill & Grain at Presho reports he’s seen some good quality winter wheat brought in. "Test weight is running around 60 pounds," said Scott, adding that he hadn’t seen much rust damage. The amount of protein ranged from nine to 14 percent.

Harvest is moving along fairly well at Dakota Mill. With the new scale and dumping pit, trucks are unloading much faster. Trucks can pull right up on the scale without having to make the sharp turn into the old elevator as in the past. The loaded truck’s weight is displayed on an outdoor LCD screen. Scott uses an electronic probe, operated from controls inside the office, to reach into the truck and pull out a sample. The truck proceeds to the south side of the elevator, dumps into the grain pit and circles back again to weigh empty. Lorne Booth of Vivian was dumping a load of wheat Monday morning. "It’s good, a lot faster than it used to be," said Booth. The wheat price is also good this summer. As of Tuesday morning, Farmers Union Coop Elevator at Kennebec was paying $5.33 per bushel for winter wheat with 12 percent protein. "It’s been a long time since we’ve seen prices like this," said Stan Collins elevator manager. Collins attributes the high price to the poor quality of wheat coming out of Oklahoma and Kansas this year.

Collins added that rust did affect some wheat, especially certain varieties, in the Kennebec area causing lower test weights and yields.

July 11 2007

Researching titles for thirty years

Posted by Kim
It was business as usual for Peggy Boysen, Thursday, July 5, as she arrived at work at the Lyman County Title Company. But, that soon changed as several floral bouquets from family and business associates were unexpectedly delivered in honor of her 30th year at the Title Company. "Wayne Roe (former manager) called me up 30 years ago and asked if I would come in and work part time to do ‘some’ typing," said Boysen. "I’ve been here ever since; fulltime!" Boysen has experienced major changes in office equipment over the past 30 years. "I started on a manual typewriter, typing abstracts, two copies with carbon paper in between. It was very intense and time consuming, as errors were difficult to correct," explained Boysen. When her first electric typewriter arrived, "I thought I was in heaven," she proclaimed. Later, as computers entered the business office, new challenges came along. "I remember my first computer had this big box and a little tiny screen," totally different than today as Boysen works on a large 17 inch computer screen.

Boysen was named manager of Lyman County Title Company in 1985 when David and Mary Alice Larson purchased the company from his parents John and Flora Larson. In 1989 Boysen became part owner. Boysen and the Larson’s bought Jackson County Title Company at Kadoka in 1991. They also operate Brule County Title Company in Chamberlain. Boysen serves as vice-president of the corporation.

Appointed to the South Dakota Abstractors Board of Examiners by the late Gov. George Mickelsen, Boysen is currently serving her fifth term. She has been the secretary/treasurer for a number of years.
Go to page  1 2 3 ...... 256 257 258 ...... 464 465 466

Theme by Xen