July 07 2006

Posted by Nicole


Todd Longville assists Tom Mundlien unload his semi truck of winter wheat into the condo pit at the Kennebec Elevator Sunday afternoon. [/html]

July 07 2006

Wheat harvest starts early

Posted by Nicole

Farmers in the Kennebec area started harvesting winter wheat on Monday, June 26, the earliest date some long time farmers ever remember harvest starting. Winter wheat yield reports vary greatly around the county from as low as 10-13 bushels per acre up to 60 depending on crop rotation. Continuous crop yields are down but wheat planted on summer fallow appears to be doing much better this year under the drought conditions.

The Kennebec elevator was open Sunday afternoon but the wait was short as trucks were dumping at both the elevator and condo sites. Todd Longville, assistant manager at the Farmers Union Coop Elevator, stated this was the earliest wheat harvest he has experienced.

With drought conditions affecting the winter wheat yields from Texas to North Dakota, the only bright spot for farmers harvesting wheat is the selling price. As of Monday, the elevator in Kennebec was paying $4.76 for new crop, which is about $1.79 more than last year’s price on July 5, of $2.97 per bushel.

July 07 2006

Lyman County included in Governor’s drought assistance request

Posted by Nicole

PIERRE, SD - Gov. Mike Rounds has requested a US Department of Agriculture (USDA) secretarial drought disaster declaration for 23 South Dakota counties.

Many areas in South Dakota are in their seventh consecutive year of drought. Counties are reporting shortages of livestock forage due to significantly below normal precipitation and inadequate soil moisture. This prolonged drought has left dams and dugouts dry and has forced producers to begin reducing their livestock herds.

"These conditions continue to bring economic hardship, not only to our affected farmers and ranchers, but also to those businesses that depend on them," said Gov. Rounds.To date, 23 South Dakota counties have issued agricultural disaster resolutions. Those counties are Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Edmunds, Fall River, Faulk, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Walworth, and Ziebach.

"I have asked the USDA to allow a portion of our CRP acres to be hayed beginning July 10, 2006, in those 23 counties," said Gov. Rounds. "We need to start the process now to open those lands for haying while there is still enough feed value left."

Rounds has also requested that USDA allow for immediate grazing of other lands in those 23 South Dakota counties that are intermixed within CRP fields. Those areas may be the water source for livestock and would further limit a landowner’s ability to graze livestock on CRP without access to those areas.

Rounds further issued an executive order allowing right-of-ways along the state highway trunk system to be mowed for hay on July 3, 2006, or one week earlier than normal. In addition, Rounds has waived the permit fees for transportation of baled livestock feed and allowed overwidth loads to be moved on the state highway trunk system and interstate system between one half hour after sunset and one half hour before sunrise.

To further assist producers, the state also has a feed finder hotline to help connect those looking for feed and those with feed available. The hotline is available by calling 1-800-228-5254 or on the internet at the SD Dept. of Agriculture website: http://www.state.sd.us/doa

July 07 2006

Bowar helps direct S.D.’s Information Superhighway

Posted by Nicole

SIOUX FALLS - June 30, 2006 - Rod Bowar, Kennebec, has been re-elected to serve a one-year term on the SDN Communications Board of Directors. Bowar is the owner of the Kennebec Telephone Company.
Bowar was elected at SDN’s June annual meeting in Sioux Falls by South Dakota’s independent telephone company managers. These 27 telephone companies, including the Kennebec Telephone Company, collectively own SDN and elect a board of directors each year to steer the company. SDN and its member companies have 14,000 miles of fiber optics in the state, making up South Dakota’s Information Superhighway. Member companies use SDN as a hub for long distance, Internet, and digital television. The Sioux Falls based company also provides business customers with: -Connectivity for voice, data, and video messages-Dedicated, high-speed Internet services

-Computer and networking equipment

-Technology consulting -Cabling

SDN Communications has become the region’s most extensive network, serving banks, health care facilities, agricultural businesses, schools, government agencies and other businesses with multiple locations. Many single location businesses also use SDN for high-speed Internet access.Bowar joins eight others on the board.
Go to page  1 2 3 ...... 390.75 391.75 392.75 ...... 555 556 557

Theme by Xen