NewsApril 01 2015

No April Fool's Joke

Posted by Lucy

South Dakota maximum speed on I-90 and I-29  increased to 80 mph today April 1, 2015.  State DOT crews were busy replacing speeds signs in accordance with SB 1 that Gov.  Dennis Daugaard signed into law March 17.

NewsMarch 25 2015

Successfull Shamrock Shuffle

Posted by Lucy

The 27th annual Shamrock Shuffle drew a large crowd Saturday during Presho’s annual St. Patrick’s Day Celebration. See page 6 for results.

NewsMarch 25 2015

Speed limit and fees increase April 1

Posted by Lucy

The maximum speed on the interstates in South Dakota will increase to 80 mph effective April 1, 2015 thanks to Senate Bill 1 that Gov. Dennis Daugaard signed into law last Tuesday, March 17.

Normally, new laws in South Dakota become effective July 1 or January 1, but due to an emergency clause included in SB1, most provisions of the bill to go into effect in less than two weeks.

A comprehensive state and local road and bridge funding package, SB 1 will help maintain roads and bridges in the state by providing an additional funds through an increase in motor vehicle license fees and other fees.

"Maintaining our roads and bridges is a fundamental function of government.  In order for us to get to work, school, church or the grocery store, we have to have adequate roads," said Gov. Daugaard in a press released issued following the signing of SB 1 into law. "This important legislation will significantly aid state and local governments in maintaining and improving infrastructure."

Key components of SB 1 include a six-cent-per-gallon gas and ethyl alcohol increase, a one percent increase in the motor vehicle excise tax and a 20 percent increase in license plate fees.

Once fully implemented, the funding package will provide an additional $85 million a year for state and local road and bridge projects, including a $15 million per year Bridge Improvement Grant to specifically address local bridge needs.

The bill was the result of work done by the Highway Needs and Financing Interim Committee, the Governor’s Office and the state Department of Transportation.

Lyman County Treasurer Carol Sundall stated that if residents have a May renewal they should come before the end of March to get their tags.

Vehicle owner can renew their registration 90 days before the month they expire.

"They’re counting March, April and May as the 90 days," said Sundall. "Only those with renewals due in May can receive the current rate if they purchase before March 31.

Any new motor vehicle purchase can be registered and taxes paid before March 31 to avoid the one-percent increase excise tax.

NewsMarch 18 2015

Wheat Growers holds open house in Kennebec

Posted by Lucy

Wheat Growers holds open house in Kennebec

Wheat Growers Regional Manager Jeff Tiede (left) and Construction Manager John Kroll update co-op members and others on the construction of the new elevator at Kennebec last Wed., March 11 at the fire hall.  Over 25 people attended the open house that featured color drawings of the proposed buildings and the site map.

Go to page  1 2 3 4 ...... 481 482 483

Theme by Xen